In the last months, all political prisoners in Belarus have received a letter of support jointly signed by 19 members of the Parliamentary Assembly for the Council of Europe. Libereco coordinated the massive project where 1,302 letters were printed, addressed individually, and sent to Belarus.

19 members of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE) from 9 countries have jointly signed the letter of support for all Belarusian political prisoners:

We are Parliamentarians from across Europe. We represent the many people of Europe in our own national parliaments, and also the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe. We met in April in Strasbourg and have signed this letter to you, and for all other political prisoners in Belarus. 

We are aware of your situation and imprisonment. This shatters us. We are aware of the injustice that you are experiencing. We have heard many stories of the terrible conditions that political prisoners in Belarus have experienced and continue to suffer.
We want you to know that you are not forgotten and that your name is known across Europe by many people who are, in many different ways, seeking justice for you and for many others in Belarus. 

Our own national parliaments call upon the authorities for your release. We apply pressure on the regime through sanctions and economic pressure, plus diplomatic actions that tell the regime that the international community condemns its actions. 

Together, we hope that you can stay strong. Together, work for there to be justice. You are in our thoughts.

Massive project coordinated by Libereco

September to December 2022 saw a massive project where letters were printed, addressed individually to 1,302 prisoners, and sent to Belarus from Poland.

“Many political prisoners in Belarus have been held for more than two years and it is important that they and their families know that they aren’t forgotten. We know that not all of the letters will get into the prisoners’ hands, but it’s also important that the Lukashenko regime and prison authorities know that the world is still aware of these repressions and human rights abuses. We thank the parliamentarians for their support,” says Ken McBain, UK Representative for Libereco and coordinator of the project.

The signatories

    • Tonia Antoniazzi (UK House of Commons)
    • Petra Bayr (Austrian National Council)
    • Dara Calleary T.D. (Irish Dáil)
    • Lord Foulkes of Cumnock (UK House of Lords)
    • John Howell (UK House of Commons)
    • Sir Tony Lloyd (UK House of Commons)
    • Max Lucks (German Bundestag)
    • Baroness Massey of Darwen (UK House of Lords)
    • Fiona O’Loughlin, Senator (Irish Senate)
    • Joe O’Reilly (Deputy Chair and Vice-President of PACE, Irish Senate)
    • Julian Pahlke (German Bundestag)
    • Paulo Pisco (Portuguese Parliament)
    • Tabea Rößner (German Bundestag)
    • Lord Russell of Liverpool (UK House of Lords)
    • Ingjerd Schou (Norwegian Storting)
    • Filippo Sensi (Italian Parliament)
    • Krzysztof Smiszek (Parliament of Poland)
    • Jorida Tabaku (Albanian Parliament)
    • Derya Türk-Nachbaur (German Bundestag)